Peace


One of my New Year’s Resolutions has been to not worry.  But that is easy to say and hard to do.  So I have been making a conscious decision several times each day that I will not worry, and it has made an amazing difference in my life. Before this, I was not aware of how so much of my life was driven by fear and worry:  How I relate to others, my purchasing decisions, how I work, and how I live.  Now I am finding that I spend less, my relationships are more positive, and challenging situations are resulting in significantly better outcomes.  It’s a better way to live.

But I don’t think that one can really do this on their own.  There are a lot of things that are unknown to us, like the future. There are a lot of things that are beyond our control, like what other people will say, think or do and and events that seem to happen ‘out of the blue’ (i.e. the current economic downturn).  We actually control very little of what happens in our lives.  And so we need to trust in someone else to take care of all those things over which we have no control.  And that’s where Jesus comes in.  “Do not let your hearts be troubled,” he said.  “Trust in God, trust also in me.”  (cf. John 14:1)  It is only because of Jesus that I can say, “I am not going to worry about that,” whatever “that” is.  He is the one who helps me do that.  He is the one who looks after all of my tomorrows.  He is the one bridges the gap between what I need and what I can do.  Jesus is the one who does it all.  He is the Prince of Peace.  It isn’t just a saying.  It’s true.  Try asking Jesus to help you to not worry and see if it makes a difference in your life.

 

[Jesus said,] Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14:27

About James Paulgaard

Living in the in between, becoming, but not quite there yet, old and new mixed together, hanging on with all my might to the One who is holding onto me.
This entry was posted in Devotional reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

