Gratitude


Gratitude… goes beyond the “mine” and “thine” and claims the truth that all of life is a pure gift. In the past I always thought of gratitude as a spontaneous response to the awareness of gifts received, but now I realize that gratitude can also be lived as a discipline. The discipline of gratitude is the explicit effort to acknowledge that all I am and have is given to me as a gift of love, a gift to be celebrated with joy. -Henri J. M. Nouwen

About James Paulgaard

Living in the in between, becoming, but not quite there yet, old and new mixed together, hanging on with all my might to the One who is holding onto me.
This entry was posted in Quotable Quotations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gratitude

  1. Lisa Marie says:

    Gratitude can be much deeper than a discipline and can even become a way of life. Try it and see.
    Here are my thoughts on the subject on my blog below.

    http://lmmiller34.wordpress.com/

    Blessings

  2. psufroggirl says:

    enjoyed the quote. i must agree.

Leave a Reply

